Quick Trip to NYC!

This past weekend I had the chance to take a quick weekend trip to NYC. I loved absolutely every second of my trip. This past week at my internship it was super busy, so I was ready for a relaxing weekend in the city.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to go but, I knew it would be worth it.  I bought my bus tickets the night before and was on my way!

JK. I was on time to get on a ‘Bolt Bus’ and the bus broke down before we even got on it! I was at the bus station for an hour and a half until they got us on a Grey Hound.  haha I guess I just have bad luck with buses… The Grey Hound had wifi and an outlet so I was totally fine with that.  It’s about a 4 1/2 hour drive to New York and I was asleep most of the way.  I literally can sleep anywhere. It’s bad.

When I got to Port Authority in Times Square, my good friend Kenji met up with me and it was so good to see him! He helped me carry my bags to meet up with our friends! My girl friends AKA Brooke & Heather were finishing up dinner with all of the other interns at the Upper West Side.  We took the 1 train to meet up with everyone and I actually missed the 1 train!! haha I met up with them at Ricardo’s apartment on the UWS and it was so good to see everyone! I’ve missed them all so much! I got in pretty late Friday night, so we basically just chilled. We went over to Brad’s apartment and I met some new finance interns and reunited with my good friend Stephen Gustin!! So happy to see him! Heather let me stay over at her place in Columbia University housing- my own bed and room with AC! WHAT? I slept soooo good that night.

On Saturday, Heather and I woke up bright and early for brunch! I’m so happy I don’t have to do the touristy things in NYC anymore.  My perfect saturday in NYC is to have brunch at a cute restaurant to start my day.  We met up with Brooke, Kenji and his friend Andrew at Isabella’s on the Upper West Side. The special was Sweet Peach Belgium Waffles. SO YUMMY.

 

Image

 

After brunch, we were on our way to the Rockaways for a YSA Beach activity.  The Rockaways are in Queens AKA an hour and half subway ride to the beach.  The Rockaways is the beach in NY that got hit badly during Hurricane Sandy.  It’s weird to have beaches in big cities, but they do exist! I had such a fun time and everyone was there! It was so good to see all of my friends! Good food. Good friends. Good weather.  It was a perfect day at the beach.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

After the beach, we went back to our apartments and changed to go out to dinner.  We met up with everyone at Patsy’s Pizzeria on the UWS and the Magnolia’s for dessert! MAGNOLIA’S. OH how i’ve missed their banana pudding. We hung out at Brad’s after dessert and just chilled at his apartment with all of the interns.  It was such a fun day!

On Sunday, I went to church at the Lincoln Square Ward and saw all of my friends! Especially, Cameron Brooks!!! I’ve missed him and working at Y&R with him!! There are a TON of new interns from BYU! My friend Chad Losser is doing a Graphic Design internship, tons of new Finance Interns, and I’ve met a whole bunch of people from the beach on Saturday.  Plus, we had a good line up in Sacrament talks. Great Job Erik Farnsworth & Ricardo! Thanks for the shout out Ricardo! HAHAHA Heather, Brooke and I might have skipped Sunday School to get some Waffles & Dinges right outside the temple. OOps. But, it was so worth it.

After Church, we had a picnic in Central Park! Picnics at the park are probably my favorite thing in the entire world. Great weather, great friends and just overall great company. I’ve truly missed NYC and it’s definitely at the top of my list in cities I want to work full-time in.  I just love the vibe and that good energy.

ImageImageImage

Until next time, NYC. Have a Happy 4th of July everyone! Stay safe & thanks for reading! GO USA!

XOXO,

Liz

Leave a Reply

