Wicked Smaht BOSTON!

I had to throw in some Boston ‘slang’ for my title because I don’t even know why.  I’m going to recap the past two weeks of my Boston adventures. It involves: 

Bucket Lists

Boston (LDS) Temple

Movie nights at the Hatch Shell

Hill Holliday’s Intern Pitch Project

Howl at the Moon – THIRSTY THURSDAY!

Capture the Flag at MIT

NYC friends visiting me in Boston

FHE on the beach

A lot to cover – but don’t worry, I’ll make it short with more pictures and relevant stuff that people might care about… But, actually I don’t really care if you don’t read this because this is mainly a personal blog for myself. HAHA sorry I’m so sassy! Anyways….

I crossed two things off my bucket list this past week.  I went paddle boarding for the first time AND I taught Sunday School for the first time. Two polar opposite things but I am most definitely proud of myself. Both things are SUPER HARD.  I had the chance to paddle board on Charles River with my Boston Crew and luckily the same guys helped me teach my Sunday School lesson by answering all of my questions even if they had to ramble about who knows what hahahaha I live for the weekends now. The weekends are my time to reenergize before the busy week coming ahead of me. In my last post I talked about the good company I found while I’ve been here.  Let me just reiterate and say that I LOVE MY FRIENDS HERE. So many good laughs and memories. Oh and also I went to the Boston Temple in Belmont, Mass. with my ward.  It was a great night. Temples are my FAVORITE.

IMG_0305

IMG_0323

 

If you’re ever in the Boston area during the summer, definitely go and check out free movies on Friday at The Hatch Shell. Zach, Chris, Eric and I went and saw Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2.  Don’t see that movie.  So LAME. hahahah But, I love the outdoors and I love movies – definitely a great date night activity because it’s FREE. If you don’t know what the Hatch Shell is and you’ve seen the movie Ted – It’s at the end of the movie where Norah Jones is singing and Mark Wahlberg professes his love to Mila Kunis. LOL sorry about that side note. 

INTERNSHIP – HILL HOLLIDAY

Let’s talk about my internship.  It’s been such a HUGE learning experience.  I thought by being in my third internship, I would be a pro at being an ‘intern.’ Not the case at all haha but it’s been fun! During the internship we were giving a “Pitch” project AKA Mock new business pitch. There were 6 teams and 3 clients so at the end there would be a winner and a loser. I’m grateful that I got put into a group where we all meshed and got along.  It’s been so fun working on this pitch project with them. 

Unfortunately, my team lost. The receptionist guy said “You didn’t lose… You just got 2nd place!” haha and that’s so true! Both teams did great and I’m proud of my team for presenting well and being passionate about our target audience and what we wanted to do for our client. Like I said, great learning experience.  

After having lunch and an exit review with my supervisor – we talked about how I did during the internship and how I felt about the whole experience.  I was surprised by some of her comments but also acknowledging everything that she had to say to me. I’m not going to dive deep into what she said but basically…. I might have to do some more soul searching.  I’m only 21 and I still have soooo many years ahead of me to figure out what I really want to do.  I know I have the skills for account management but, there are so many things that I’m passionate about. For example, I love the planning side of advertising – I love talking to people and gaining those insights to help spark amazing creative work.  For all of my Provo friends, everyone knows that I love party/event planning.  It’s my PASSION to get a whole group together and make everyone happy in one room.  I also love fitness and being active.  So someone help me find a job where I can incorporate all of that in! I know I’m all over the place, but everything will somehow work out.  I’ve been having a lot of “should’ve, would’ve, could’ve” moments but that needs to STOP! 

My internship ends tomorrow and I’m super sad to leave but also super excited to start my next adventure. What’s my next adventure? You’ll just have to wait and see! 

Celebratory pics at Howl at the Moon (a bar here in Boston) after our final pitch presentation!

IMG_0448

IMG_0375

 

IMG_0449

ANYWAYS…. 

Let’s talk about VISITORS in BOSTON!!! 

My friend Topher and his friend Mike came to stay with me here! It was such a fun weekend with those boys. My typical tour guide route of Boston starts with my favorite crepe place at Paris Creperie (NUTELLA SHAKES 4 DAYZZ), then shop at Newbury Street, Boston Gardens/Commons, Freedom Trail, Quincy Market, Holocaust Memorial site, Mike’s Pastry and finally Boston Tea Party Harbor! 

Some new things to me were the Boston Tea Party and Boston Gardens site.  I loved that Topher brought his nice camera to take pictures of all of us. He’s definitely going to be the next famous Instagram photographer. 😉 

Enjoy the pics! I love every single one of them. 

 

IMG_0402

IMG_0394 IMG_4486

IMG_0441 IMG_0442

IMG_4570   IMG_0396

IMG_0400  IMG_0443
IMG_0445 IMG_0446

To end this blog, I’ll talk about my ward here.  I attend the University Cambridge Ward.  AKA 18-24 year olds who are still in school (kind of). It took me a while to get used to the ward, but I absolutely love it now.  It took a while for me to make friends but the wait was definitely worth it. I love how the church has amazing connections from where ever you’re living or whatever you’re doing. Everyone in this ward all have a good place in my heart. For my last Family Home Evening, We went to Bishop Gregersen’s house on the beach – somewhere past Revered Beach and took in the Sunset and made s’mores. It was a great time and I didn’t want to leave! Life is good when you’re surrounded by amazing people.

IMG_0451 IMG_0452

Sorry for the long post again.  I promise I won’t slack.  Life is going to just get way better so it’s going to be hard not to write my daily thoughts often. Boston, you’ve been so good to me. TTYL.

XOXO,
Liz 

 

 

Leave a Reply

